Friday, 10 March 2017

ITIL Service Design

software development company

The scope of Service Design covers the design of new IT services, as well as modification, changes and improvements made to the existing ones.

The activities included in Service design are :
  • To design the IT services to meet Business Objectives of a software development company.
  • To design Secure & flexible IT Infrastructure.
  • To analyze, identify and remove the risks associated with the IT services before they go live.
  • To create & maintain the IT plans, processes, policies and frameworks.
  • To design methods & metrics for the measurement of the effectiveness of processes.
  • Design Effective & efficient processes for design, transition & operation phases

The Service Design includes different phases, namely :
  1. Design Coordination
  2. Service Catalogue Management
  3. Service Level Management
  4. Availability Management
  5. Capacity Management
  6. Supplier Management
  7. Information Security Management
  8. Service Continuity Management
  9. Risk Management
  10. Compliance Management
  11. Architecture Management
Design Coordination handles all processes in the Design stage and acts as the center point of all the communication.
It governs all designing activities and make sure that the consistent design of IT services is aligned with the service strategy.

Five Sub processes of the Design Coordination includes :
  • Design Coordination Support
  • Service Design Planning
  • Service Design Coordination and Monitoring
  • Technical and Organizational Service Design
  • Service Design Review and RFC Submission

Service Catalogue Management includes the IT Services which are ready to be used and implemented.

The objective of the Service Catalogue Management includes :
  • Creating and maintaining the Service Catalogue.
  • Keeping the Service Catalogue updated with the latest trends and information.
  • There has to be Continual Improvement in Management of Service Catalogue.
Service Catalogue :

The service catalogue is defined as the single source of information for all the offerings of IT services. It includes Operational & in Transition Services. Service catalogue is considered as a part of Service Portfolio. Service Catalogue emphasizes on what kind of IT service software development company would would like to offer to its customers based on the needs of the customers.

The different types of Service Catalogue are given as :
  • Business Service Catalogue
  • Technical Service Catalogue


The Availability Management ensures that the IT services are working as agreed upon.

The objective of the Availability Management includes :
  • To ensure agreed Availability Level is continuously met or not and check whether it has exceeded the expected level or not.
  • To ensure that a defined level of IT services are accessible to customer in a cost effective way.
  • The availability management ensures Availability
  • The availability management ensures Reliability
  • The availability management ensures Maintainability
  • The availability management ensures Serviceability
  • The availability management ensures Fault Tolerance
Three sub-processes of Availability Management includes :
  • Design Services for Availability Process
  • Availability Testing Process
  • Availability Monitoring and Reporting.

The Service Level Management covers the negotiation & service level agreement with the clients on the various IT service provided.

The objective of the Service Level Management includes :
  • It focuses on the negotiation, agreement and documentation of the agreed levels of the IT Services.
  • Maintaining the balance between expectation of the customers and the capabilities of an IT organization.
  • Emphasizes on continual improvement and maintaining of the agreed IT service levels
  • It looks onto managing the performance as per the agreed service level norms.
  • Maintain the customer relationship is given importance.

Four Service Level Management sub-processes includes :
  • Maintenance of the SLM Framework Objective
  • Identification of Service Requirements Objective
  • Agreements Sign-Off and Service Activation
Service Level Monitoring and Reporting Process


The Capacity Management ensures IT services are sized in very cost effective manner and at the optimum level.

Mapping and ensuring that the capacity of IT services with the IT infrastructure is able to deliver the agreed service level targets in a cost effective and timely manner.
It ensures that the IT infrastructure is utilized to its optimum level.
Capacity plan should be regularly produced and updated.

Four Sub processes of the Capacity management includes :
  • Business Capacity Management
  • Service Capacity Management
  • Component Capacity Management
  • Capacity Management Reporting

The role of the Supplier Management in an IT organization is to manage Supplier Relationship & Performance and maintain it for the advantage of the organization on the ease of resource availability.

The objectives of the Supplier Management includes :
  • To enhance and maintain the supplier relationship & performance
  • To Ensure the relevant and correct contracts with the supplier of the IT services
  • To manage and maintain the contracts throughout the supplier management lifecycle
  • To create and maintain the database of Supplier Policy and Contracts
Six Sub Processes of Supplier management includes :
  • Providing the Supplier Management Framework
  • Evaluation of new Suppliers and Contracts
  • Establishing new Suppliers and Contracts
  • Processing of Standard Orders Process
  • Supplier and Contract Review Process
  • Renewal or Termination Process

Information Security Management is the way to protect the data and information of the IT organization against the vulnerabilities of the natural or environmental factors. 

The objectives of the Information Security Management includes :
  • To prevent  against the unauthorized access
  • To provide various effective security measures at different levels : Strategic, planned & Operational organizational Levels
  • To match and comply with the Information Security Requirements as per Service Level Agreement
Four Sub Processes of the Information Security Management includes :
  • Design of Security Controls
  • Security Testing
  • Management of Security Incidents
  • Security Review

The Service Continuity Management process focuses on the continuation and the recovery  of the IT services even after the disaster and ensuring that they work in the same fashion as before as per the  agreed & applicable SLA

The objectives of the service continuity management includes :
  • To create & manage IT service continuity & recovery plans
  • To reduce potential disaster occurrence
  • Balance SLAs & Cost factors while planning for service continuity
Four sub processes of the service continuity management includes :
  • ITSCM Support Objective
  • Design Services for Continuity
  • ITSCM Training and Testing
  • ITSCM Review.
Conclusion: The service design helps to an IT organization to design new services and increasing the relationship with the IT service providers and the supplier along with maintaining the relationship with the customer thereby increasing the value of the IT organization. It helps to maintain the existing IT Services as well as implementing new services.

References :

No comments:

Post a Comment